Nine new members elected to World Heritage Committee


The 22nd General Assembly of the States Parties to the World Heritage Convention is meeting on 27 and 28 November 2019 at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris, France, convening the 193 States Parties to the World Heritage Convention, under the chairmanship of H.E. Mr Adam Al Mulla, Ambassador and Permanent Delegate of the State of Kuwait to UNESCO.

During the session, the General Assembly elected nine new members to the World Heritage Committee: Egypt, Ethiopia, Mali, Nigeria, Oman, Thailand, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia and South Africa.

The current composition of the World Heritage Committee is therefore as follows:

Australia, Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, China, Egypt, Ethiopia, Guatemala, Hungary, Kyrgyzstan, Mali, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Spain, Thailand, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Uganda.